Billing

The Billing area of your admin is where you can view and make changes to your account plan or payment method, get a rundown of your shop’s billing history, or close your account if you need to part ways. Read on to get the full rundown! And if you still need a hand, don’t hesitate to contact us.

Billing area in admin

Change Your Plan

Anytime you need more (or less) from your Big Cartel account, click the Change your plan link in the Billing area to upgrade or downgrade your plan.

Already on a paid plan and need to bump it up to the next level? You won’t be billed at the new rate until your next billing date, so you’ll get the upgraded features instantly and won’t be prorated for the month. Pretty sweet.

Edit Billing Info

Edit payment info

Your current payment method will be listed in the Billing section of your admin. Click the Edit billing info link to change the card or PayPal account that’s billed monthly for your subscription. When you save a new method it’ll be used on your next account billing date.

Shop History

Shop billing and plan history

Here’s where you can find a complete history of your store’s plan changes and payments.

Need payment details for your bookkeeping records? Click on any Payment received link to open up a printer-friendly invoice of your monthly payment.

Close Your Shop

Closing shop

As much as we hate goodbyes, we’ve made closing an account – for any reason – really easy. Just click the Close my shop link at the bottom of the Billing page, enter your password and confirm you’d really like to delete the account, and you’ll be on your way.

It bears repeating: all your store data will be deleted for good when you close, so please be sure and back up any vital info you might need before you shut ‘er down. You can export order data from the Orders section of your admin, and download your theme code in the Customize Design > Advanced section.

FAQs

How much do paid plans cost?

Right now we’ve got four plan options:

  • Gold - free!
  • Platinum - $9.99 per month
  • Diamond - $19.99 per month
  • Titanium - $29.99 per month

You can check out the differences between each plan at our signup page. If you’re not sure, we suggest giving our free Gold plan a spin to see how you like it. You can always upgrade at any time if you decide you need more features. Signup options »

When will I be billed?

Well, first, thanks so much for signing up! We’re thrilled to have you using Big Cartel!

Your first payment will be made the day you signup up or upgrade to one of our paid plans, and then you’ll be charged on the same day each month after that.

Can I change how I pay for my Big Cartel store?

Absolutely! To update your payment info from the desktop admin, click on your store name in the top right corner of the admin and select Plan & Billing from your list of choices. If you see a Billing Information link to the right, simply click that link and update your credit card or PayPal information. That’s it!

Using a mobile device? If possible, we’d recommend switching to a desktop computer instead to access your billing information. Otherwise, tap the menu icon in the top left corner, tap More, and View desktop admin to access the desktop version of your admin from mobile.

Don’t see the Billing Information link? That means you’ve been with us for awhile (thanks–you rule!), so your account uses our old PayPal-only billing system. Contact us if you need to update your payment method and we’ll get you fixed up.

Why won’t my payment to you go through?

Ahh, that’s such a pain! We wish we could be more help, but our payment processor doesn’t have a way to force a payment through when your card issuer is declining it.

There are a ton of reasons why your card issuer may be declining the payment, so you’d want to contact them directly. Have them look up failed verifications, and they should be able to find the reason they’re declining the payment.

Oh, and make sure you’re not using a pre-paid card. Most pre-paid cards don’t allow recurring payments for a monthly service like Big Cartel.

What should I do if my monthly payment fails?

Don’t worry! Our system will automatically try the payment again a few days later, and in the meantime your store will remain open and available.

If your payment fails on the second or third try, though, you’ll need to re-enter your payment details to manually make that month’s payment. You can do that by clicking your store name in the top right corner of the desktop admin > Plan & Billing > Billing Information. Then you’ll be all set!

How do I close my store?

We hate to see you go, but we’re happy when our stores do so well they outgrow us.

Because closing an account is permanent and you lose all info and customizations associated with your store, we’d prefer you close things up yourself. If that’s an issue for any reason, just email us giving permission to permanently close your shop, and we’ll take care of that.

Otherwise, you can close your account at any time by clicking your store name in the top right corner of the desktop admin > Plan & Billing > I’d like to close my account at the bottom of the page.

Can I get a refund?

You bet! Refunds aren’t automatic, so send us over an email, tell us what’s going on, and we’ll get you taken care of. Contact us »

How do I reopen my store?

While we welcome you back with open arms, our system doesn’t archive any store details when you close your shop, so there’s not a way to reopen a closed account. Sorry!

What you can do is sign up for a new store though! We’d love to have you.